Day Care Education and Training in Michigan

by admin on April 25, 2011

 


Being a licensed daycare provider in the state of Michigan as well as in the other states is very important. An individual can only have a career in daycare or childcare center if you are a license provider and staff. Thus, the state of Michigan has its own licensing standard requirement.

In the state of Michigan, there are different qualifications for the different job titles in a daycare or childcare center. Usually, the age requirement in a daycare center in the state of Michigan is at least 19 years of age. Education requirements are then further detailed in the following sections.

Classes offered through the State

The classes and degrees offered in various universities and colleges in the state of Michigan are not different from those offered in other states of America. Those who want to have careers in the field of daycare or childcare education can take up degrees on childhood education, childhood development, or childcare management. Furthermore, those who took up a different course can have the chance to work in the daycare or childcare industry in the state of Michigan as the state do sometimes credit or consider several courses which are closely related to childhood education given that the subject credits are equivalent.

For those daycare staff or teachers classes such as Child Care Laws, Child Growth and Development, Family and Community Relations, First Aid and CPR, Nutrition and Health, Psychology, and Small Business Management are the common classes included in childcare courses. Aside from these, basic education classes such as English, Mathematics, Sociology and others should also be taken up.

Certifications Given for Completed Classes

The state of Michigan awards certificates or credentials same with the other states of America. The three most common credentials awarded to aspiring daycare providers and staff is CDA, CCP, and NAC. These certifications and credentials are given only to those individuals who have completed and finished the required coursework, accomplished the required credit hours, and acquired the minimum working experience. All states of America require daycare providers and staff to attend trainings on CPR or cardio-pulmonary resuscitation and First Aid.

To gain the Child Development Associate credential or CDA, daycare providers must be a high school graduate or a holder of GED certification with 480 working hours and 120 hours for formal education with children in the last five years. The Certified Childcare Professional certificate is given to those daycare providers are intended for those daycare teachers who did not finish their college degree or taken up a different course.

Moreover, the state of Michigan offers the NAC or the National Administrator Credential designed for aspiring daycare managers and directors. This credential concentrates more on the management of the organization as well as the administration, site maintenance, and planning and development of childcare programs.

The state of Michigan requires a special or specific credential which is the Montessori credential. This credential is given by the Association Montessori Internationale (AMI), American Montessori Society (AMS), or any Montessori teaching training institution recognized by the Montessori Accreditation Council for Teacher Education (MACTE) that meets or exceeds 270 hours of academic training.

Cost of the Classes

The cost of classes for childcare degrees and courses can range from $3,000 to $30,000 per year in the universities and colleges in the state of Michigan. Factors such as type of school (whether public or private, vocational or non-vocational), location of the school, and the degree you are currently enrolled affects the rate or cost of tuition fees.

Required Classes that Day Care Providers Should Take

Childcare courses or degrees are highly preferable and recommended for those individual who want to establish a career in daycare or childcare industry. In addition to the degrees, working experience and credit hours should also pass the requirement of the state.

For Daycare Directors/Providers

The requirements for a program or childcare director (which is usually the childcare provider) are the following:

  1. Be at least 21 years of age.
  2. Have earned a high school diploma or GED.
  3. Have current certification in infant, child, and adult cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and first aid.
  4. Complete 12 clock hours of annual training on topics referenced in R 400.5102(3)(b), in addition to CPR, first aid, and blood borne pathogen training.
  5. Develop, implement, and evaluate center policies and program.
  6. Administer day-to-day operations including being available to address parent, child, and staff issues.
  7. Monitor and evaluate staff.
  8. The center shall ensure that the qualifications of the program director meet 1 of the following:
    1. Bachelor’s degree or higher in early childhood education or child development
    2. Bachelor’s degree or higher in a child related field with 18 semester hours of early childhood education or child development plus 480 hours of experience.
    3. Associate’s degree in early childhood education or child development with 18 semester hours credit plus 480 hours of experience.
    4. Montessori credential with 18 semester hours plus 960 hours of experience.
    5. Child Development Associate (CDA) credential with 18 semester hours plus 960 hours of experience.
    6. A 60-semester hour and 18 semester hours of early childhood education or child development with 1920 hours of experience.
  9. A program director shall have at least 2 semester hours in child care administration from an accredited college or university, or a minimum of 3.0 CEUs in child care administration.
  10. A program director, currently employed as a program director before the effective date of these rules, with a minimum of 2 years working experience as a program director, shall be exempt from the requirements in subrules (3) and (4) of this rule.

For Lead Caregivers:

  1. Be at least 19 years of age.
  2. Have a high school diploma or GED.
  3. Have current certification in infant, child, and adult cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) and first aid.
  4. The center shall ensure that the qualifications of the lead caregiver meet 1 of the following:
    1. Bachelor’s degree or higher in early childhood education, child development, or a child-related field
    2. Associate’s degree or higher in early childhood education or child development
    3. Montessori credential with 480 hours of working experience
    4. Child development associate credential with 480 hours of working experience
    5. High school diploma/GED with 12 semester hours of plus 960 hours of work experience
    6. High school diploma/GED with combination of 12 semester hours and/or 18 CEUs to equal 180 clock hours plus 1920 hours of work experience
    7. High school diploma/GED hours with combination of 6 semester hours and/or 9 CEUs to equal 90 clock plus 3840 hours of working experience.

Links and Contact Information for Class Application

There are several departments in the state of Michigan that handles childcare and family welfare. You can contact them for more information and inquiries regarding the licensing procedures, fees, classes required and the like. You can reach the following departments:

Child Care Licensing Agency
Mailing:
Michigan Department of Human Services
7109 West Saginaw, 2nd Floor
P.O. Box 30650
Lansing, MI 48909-8150
Phone: (517) 241-2488
Toll Free: (866) 685-0006
Fax: (517) 335-6121

Head Start – State Collaboration Office
Mailing:
Early Childhood Investment Corporation
221 N. Pine Streeet
Lansing, MI, 48933
Phone: (517) 371-9000 ext. 202
Fax: (517) 371-9080

State Child Care Resource & Referral Contact
Mailing:
Michigan 4C Association
839 Centennial Way
Lansing, MI 48917
Phone: (517) 351-4171
Toll Free: (866) 424-4532
Fax: (517) 351-0157

Previous post:

Next post: